Hunter Junior Rugby League appoints Independent Directors


The Hunter Junior Rugby League Association (JRLA) is pleased to announce its Independent Chairman and the Trustees of its inaugural Board following a unanimous vote last year by the Newcastle JRLA and Maitland and District JRLA to form a governing body for the region.

It was determined that the committee structure would consist of two members of the Newcastle JRLA and Maitland and District JRLA Board of Directors to ensure a smooth transition, who would then vote on the Chairman and Independent Directors after expression of interest.

Newly appointed board members include:

Chairman – Tony Goldman

With over 50 years of Rugby League experience as a player, team official and referee, as well as many administrative roles in the game, Tony brings a lifetime of knowledge and work experience to the game. at local level. He previously held board positions as Group 21 Chairman, North Division Chairman, Hunter Valley JRLA Chairman and served on the National Rugby League Board.

Independent Director – Rob Dixon

Joins the Hunter JRLA Board of Directors with an in-game history spanning 25 years, including numerous administrative roles. Rob is currently a business director and business owner specializing in risk mitigation, financial and corporate governance, marketing, sales and promotion. These professional qualities, acquired over the past 20 years as Chief Operating Officer, President and CEO, Managing Director and Statutory Officer, provide the Board of Directors with a set of vital business skills.

Independent Director – Helen Wright

Currently working and specializing in team management and digital services education in sport for the NRL, Helen brings a wealth of experience from a lifetime of various administrative and support roles at all levels of the game. Helen has previously served on the board of Blacktown City Rugby League Club and is currently a board member of the NSWRL Diaspora and Heritage RL. In 2011, Helen received the Women In League Professional Achievement Award. His knowledge and vast experience at all levels of Rugby League administration and volunteer support across different geographical regions will be extremely valuable to the Hunter JRLA.

The Hunter JRLA Board includes Tony Goldman (Chairman), Rob Dixon, Helen Wright, Jody Watsford (Newcastle Manager), Michael Porter (Newcastle Manager), Peter Martin (Maitland and District Manager) and Rebecca Fullick (Maitland and District Director). ).

The Hunter JRLA is part of NSWRL’s One State Strategic Plan, which created six new zones across the state to streamline governance and administration, further improve opportunities for participation and competition, and consistency of local rules and competition structures, and reduce costs.

The Hunter Junior Rugby League Association, which will include 22 clubs from Newcastle JRLA and 10 clubs from Maitland and District JRLA, has also been supported by the NRL’s Newcastle Knights as it creates a clearer alignment between local competitions and lanes. elite.

The move will make Hunter JRLA the second largest catchment area in the state behind Penrith, with a total of 6,656 participants (Newcastle JRLA 4,340 and Maitland and District JRLA 2,316) who could help with resources, funding and sponsorship for the region.

It will only include competitions from under 6 to under 18, with senior competitions remaining the same.


Comments are closed.