Planning Council Headquarters – The Provincetown Independent


Upcoming meetings

Most meetings in Truro are remote. Go to and click on the meeting you want to watch. The agenda includes instructions on how to join.

Thursday September 22

  • Le Havre de Pamet Commission, 3 p.m., Town Hall
  • Charter Review Commission, 4:15 p.m.
  • Community Preservation Committee, 5 p.m.

Monday, September 26

  • Zoning Appeal Board, 5:30 p.m.

Tuesday, September 27

Wednesday, September 28

  • Planning Council, 5 p.m.
  • Walsh Property Community Planning Committee, 6 p.m.

Thursday September 29

  • Economic Development Committee, 10 a.m.
  • Climate Action Committee, 10:30 a.m.

Catch phrase

Headquarters of the planning council

Bruce Boleyn resigned from the planning board a year before his term ends in 2023. The city is now accepting applications candidates for the last year of his term.

The selection of planning board members has been a hot topic in Truro for some years. There is a movement to amend the Truro town charter so that the planning board is appointed by the select council, and not elected as is currently the case. Those in favor of an appointed board argue that members of the planning board should create bylaws that reflect the goals of the select board, which include prioritizing affordable housing.

Those who want to maintain the status quo argue that it is more democratic to elect the planning board. In practice, however, seats on the planning board are rarely contested, so anyone who volunteers for the position is elected. The current council has been criticized for being weak on housing.

Candidates for the Boleyn seat will go before a joint meeting of the select council and the planning council. All members of both councils have one vote. In the past, when the seven-member planning council voted unanimously, it even outnumbered a unanimous five-member select council, said Jay Coburn, a former select council member and current executive director of the Community Development Partnership, which manages housing projects and programs.

The two councils, however, have changed their composition. Two new board members, Ellery Althaus and Caitlin Townsend, expressed support for their board appointments. —KC Myers


Comments are closed.